Recipe – Dishoom’s Keema Pau

(photo is copyright BBC Good Food – no infringement of any kind is intended)

I can’t really tell you just how much I enjoy this recipe. Not only does it tick all the boxes on ‘I can’t be bothered’ days, but the lamb mince is so versatile you can spice this pretty much as you want, depending on who you’re cooking for. I personally prefer a good hit of spices, so tend to go quite overboard from the proscribed recipe (which I found here), but in all honesty the richness of the meat, offset by the lovely coriander is more than enough to delight your taste buds.

Ingredients

vegetable oil
1 red onion , finely chopped
ginger , grated to make 1 tbsp
3 garlic cloves , finely chopped
2 tomatoes , finely chopped
½ tsp hot chilli powder
1 tsp ground cumin
500g lamb mince
4 soft white rolls
butter , softened for spreading
coriander leaves, to garnish

For my most recent attempt at this I used ciabatta rolls, which were an absolute delight. They held together better than average rolls, and absorbed the flavours really nicely as well. I’m sure the recipe would work very well for catering for parties, but I promise you it’s outstanding comfort food as well! Obviously the fresher ingredients the better, and I’m moving away again recently from Internet ordering, in favour of visiting markets and larger supermarkets in person to source better stuff. Try it if this sounds nice, and let me know how you get on. Below are a couple of pics showing my most recent effort:

20120330-123820.jpg 20120330-125650.jpg
